Forgot Password?
Connect With Us Facebook Twitter YouTube Google+
Fri 22nd Mar 2019
EmbrunMan results
Posted by: Editor
Posted on: Monday 16th August 2010

Bookmark This  |  Print This Page  |  Send To A Friend  |  Post A Comment

The EmbrunMan iron-distance event in France sits alongside the likes of Norseman when debates are had about the 'toughest iron-distance race in the world'. The bike route include the Hors Categorie climb of the Col d'Izoard, at 2361 metres one of the toughest mountain climbs in the Tour de France, as one of its many challenges. Add in an extra 8km on the bike, and this is one tough race.

That said, the challenging course - combined with a generous prize purse - still attracts a quality field every year, to a race won for the past two seasons by Great Britain's Bella Bayliss.

Marcel Zamora Perez (ESP) is a favourite in France these days, and having won Ironman France in Nice for the past five seasons, his strength on the hills is well proven - as is his ability to run like the wind off the bike too.

He was able to retain his EmbrunMan title, but only after a tough battle with Alpe d'Huez Long Course winner James Cunnama (RSA), now firing on all cylinders after early season illness. While Britain's Stephen Bayliss was part of the lead group out of the swim, by the summit of the Col d'Izoard he was over 12 minutes back on Zamora Perez, with Cunnama having made up his 2:28 swim deficit to join him, the pair pulling away from all pursuers. By T2 the pairing had built a lead of 13 minutes on Herve Faure (FRA), second place finisher in 2009.

Zamora Perez and Cunnama are both fine runners, and proved this with splits of 2:53:59 and and 3:00:33 respectively, which left them first and second at the finish with a huge margin over third placed Victor Del Corral Morales (ESP) who had moved up from sixth at T2 courtesy of a 3:01:21 marathon. Cunnama now has his sights set on winning the Rev3 iron-distance event in Cedar Point next month.

Tereza Macel took the ladies title, leading from start-to-finish, crossing the line with a winning margin of almost half an hour over home athletes Isabelle Ferrer and Alexandra Louison.

Pos Men Women
1st Marcel Zamora Perez (ESP) 9:38:49 Tereza Macel (CZE) 11:20:09
2nd James Cunnama (RSA) 9:45:46 Isabelle Ferrer (FRA) 11:49:17
3rd Victor Del Corral Morales (ESP) 10:03:22 Alexandra Louison (FRA) 11:51:06

Former three-time winner of Embrunman Bella Bayliss finished fourth (11:58:16), while husband Stephen was fifth (10:22:39)


Related Articles
Frederik Van Lierde and Michelle Vesterby win...
Posted on: Mon, Nov 28, 2016 at 17:08
Laura Siddall joins the Sub-9 club at...
Posted on: Wed, Aug 31, 2016 at 10:59
© Getty Images for Ironman
Jodie Swallow and Kimberley Morrison on the...
Posted on: Mon, Jul 11, 2016 at 09:34
Stephen wins, Bella second in Lanzarote A couple...
Posted on: Mon, Feb 22, 2016 at 08:35

Have Your Say