Forgot Password?
Connect With Us Facebook Twitter YouTube Google+
Sun 22nd May 2022
TriGrandPrix UK report: Hotchkiss and Grant
Posted by: Press Releases
Posted on: Wednesday 25th May 2011

Bookmark This  |  Print This Page  |  Send To A Friend

Competitors battled tough winds on Sunday and Julia Grant and Jonathan Hotchkiss took the victory of Stage 1 at the 2011 TriGrandPrix Championship.

The TriGrandPrix championship is now in its second year and consists of six races of various distances held around Europe. If you do several of them you can accumulate points based on your age-group finishing position, which could lead to some very nice championship series prizes.

In fact, the prizes are good even if you're not planning on the doing the whole series. At the UK event, held at Emberton Park near Milton Keynes, the age-group winners stood to win £300 Zone3 wetsuits and there was a £4,000 prize fund for the overall top three men and women. But before thinking about the prizes the competitors had to come to terms with completing a half-ironman distance race in winds of 30mph. Trees were bending, tents took off and disc-wheels were being swapped for training wheels. It was going to be a tough one.

It kicked off with a 1.9km lake swim where British pros Tom Sturdy and Jonathan Hotchkiss surged into a clear lead, while Boulder-based New Zealander Julia Grant was the first woman to hit transition, followed by Brits Lucy Gossage and Eimear Mullan one and two minutes later respectively.

Out on the bike the athletes fought hard to keep control of their bikes from the sharp side winds, as they tackled the rolling 56-mile course. Men's leader Hotchkiss held his nerve, building a four-minute lead over second placed Sturdy, while women's leader Julia Grant extended her gap over Gossage and Mullen.

Hotchkiss kept his lead throughout the run, despite an amazing effort from the Spanish professional Raul Amatriain, who was over nine minutes down coming off the bike. He managed to hold a scorching pace for the entire half marathon, despite strong headwinds and an undulating course. He ran down his compatriot Javier Herrera, and then caught and passed Tom Sturdy, closing down a six-minute gap in the process to finish in second, with Sturdy in third. Triathlon Plus' Coaching Editor Phil Mosley finished behind Herrera to take fifth in 4 hours 10 minutes.

Jonathan       Hotchkiss and Julia Grant

Kiwi Julia Grant just about held onto her lead throughout the run, despite losing four-minutes to Lucy Gossage who caught up to within 25-seconds but had to settle for second. Eimar Mullen was also making up ground on Julia Grant but not fast enough, finishing third in 4 hours 27 minutes.

Men's Results

  1. Jonathan Hotchkiss 03:56:05
  2. Raul Amatriain 04:01:27
  3. Tom Sturdy 04:01:59
  4. Xavier Boneta Herrera 04:06:19
  5. Phil Mosley 04:10:08

Women's Results

  1. Julia Grant 04:23:23
  2. Lucy Gossage 04:23:47
  3. Eimear Mullan 04:27:26
  4. Annabel Hagon 04:48:48
  5. Elisabeth Brama 04:53:13

"I really enjoyed the race - thank-you very much. I thought it was very well organised and a good tough course" [Lucy Gossage, 2nd at TriGrandPrix UK].

"Thanks for an amazing race experience guys I really enjoyed the day Thank you!" [Peter Marathoner Sariwee]

“Superb race and event - will be doing the middle distance in 2012! - Keep up the good work guys and advertise the event more!! [Adam Coates]

“I enjoyed the day and great to see the progression and growth of the Series. I'm sure it will continue to go from strength to strength and I'm glad to be able to offer my support in any way”. [Jonathan Hotchkiss, TriGrandPrix Champion 2011]

Now TriGrandPrix moves to the second stage: BH Zarauzko Triatloia. Julia Grant, Tom Sturdy, Xavi Boneta and Raul Amaitrian will face tough competition in the Basque Country.

They will race against Triathletes like Bjørn Andersson, Clemente Alonso, Mikel Elguezabal, Miquel Blanchart, Hektor Llanos, Herve Faure, and Peru Alfaro. We will also see the winners of the last three Ironman races with Mathias Hecht, winer of Ironman St George 2011, Timo Bracht, winner of IM Lanzarote 2011 and finally, Eneko Llanos five-time winner of Zarautz and also winner of Ironman Texas 2011.

In the female side Anna Cleaver is already training in Zarautz. Anna will race against Ana Burgos, Ana Casares, Eva Ledesma and the TriGrandPrix UK 2011 winner Julia Grant. Not only that, but also we will have Catriona Morrison defending her 2010 championship and celebrating her recent victory in IM Texas 2011.

Related Articles
Lucy Gossage: Don't write me off as a Pro just...
Posted on: Tue, Oct 25, 2016 at 15:59
Laura Siddall joins the Sub-9 club at...
Posted on: Wed, Aug 31, 2016 at 10:59
Lucy Gossage second, Parys Edwards third...
Posted on: Thu, Jul 28, 2016 at 15:23
© Getty Images for IRONMAN
Lucy Gossage on her third IRONMAN UK victory "I...
Posted on: Tue, Jul 19, 2016 at 16:10