Forgot Password?
Connect With Us Facebook Twitter YouTube Google+
Mon 4th Jul 2022
ITU reveals Rio Paratri selections
Posted by: John Levison
Posted on: Saturday 9th July 2016

Bookmark This  |  Print This Page  |  Send To A Friend  |  Post A Comment

Phill Hogg, Clare Cunningham and George Peasgood selected for Rio Paralympic Games**

While the British Paratriathlon team for the 2016 Rio Paralympic Games hasn't been formally announced yet - that is not due until next Friday, 15th July - news from the ITU today ahead of that announcement that confirms that three British paratriathletes will definitely be going**, courtesy of the ITU Bipartite Selection Panel.

(** small disclaimer - this does, officially at least, require confirmation from ParalympicsGB, which should all come as part of the formal team announcement next week)

So, particularly awesome news and congratulations to:

  • Phil Hogg - PT1 Men
  • Clare Cunningham - PT4 Women
  • George Peasgood - PT Men

What does this (likely) mean? And this is just my personal interpretation of the situation, it is NOT official, and is simply my best efforts forecast...

Men's PT1 - Jospeh Townsend (PT1) will likely be selected next week and race alongside Phil following his Bronze medal at the European Championships in Lisbon.

Women's PT4 - Lauren Steadman (already selected) and Faye McLelland (second in Lisbon) are certain to be named, meaning that GB will have three entrants in that category - and, possibly, an opportunity to claim three medals - something the trio achieved at the World Champs in 2014 and 2013.

Men's PT4 - With George having been granted the ITU Bipartite selection, we think that is good news for David Hill, who with third place recently in Besancon, secured a slot for the GB team in the PT4 category - a slot that I think he will be awarded, having finished seventh (first Brit) in the World Champs last year and sixth (to George's fifth), in Lisbon.

How might that 'complete' the GB team? Well, we can be pretty sure (again, unofficially!) of the following, separate from the ITU announcement below:

Men's PT2 - Ryan Taylor (3rd, World Champs 2015) and Andrew Lewis (European Champion, 2016) will take the two British slots already earned, and

Women's PT5: Alison Patrick (already selected) will surely be joined by Melissa Reid, the pair earning Gold and Silver respectively at the European Championships

Here is the formal news from the ITU.

ITU is proud to announce that 17 paratriathletes from 11 National Federations have been selected by the ITU Bipartite Selection Panel to participate at the 2016 Rio Paralympic Games. In its debut at the Paralympics, a total of 60 athletes will race for Paralympic gold on September 10-11 in the women’s PT2, PT4 and PT5, as well as the men’s PT1, PT2 and PT4 sport classes.

During the Paralympic qualification period, seven men and women in each sport class ensured their nations would be represented on Copacabana Beach. As one of the slots was already allocated for host nation Brazil in the women’s PT4 sport class, the 17 remaining athletes were invited by the Bipartite Panel.

With excellence of performance the primary driver in reviewing applications for Paralympic selection, the Panel this week selected the following athletes to compete in Rio:

PT1 Men - Phil Hogg (GBR), Jumpei Kimura (JPN), Nic Beveridge (AUS)
PT2 Women - Melissa Stockwell (USA)
PT2 Men - Stefan Loesler (GER), Giovanni Sasso (ITA), Lionel Morales (ESP)
PT4 Women - Claire Mclean (AUS), Patricia Collins (USA), Clare Cunningham (GBR)
PT4 Men - Maxime Maurel (FRA), George Peasgood (GBR), Jack Swift (AUS), Alexander Yalchik (RUS)
PT5 Women - Atsuko Yamada (JPN), Christine Robbins (CAN), Catherine Walsh (IRL)

Following IPC’s recommendations to debut the most competitive paratriathlon races possible, ITU opted not to fill the quota in the Women’s PT2 sport class. Rather, that event will see eight women compete with the two extra slots reallocated for the most populated sports class - PT4. Each gender will receive one additional spot making the final quota at the Paralympics 31 men and 29 women.

National Paralympic Committees have until July 22 to confirm the use of allocated qualification and Bipartite slots.

Related Articles
© Dave Pearce / British Triathlon
British Triathlon Paratriathlon success in 2016 The...
Posted on: Wed, Dec 28, 2016 at 16:00
© dE
Silver and Bronze for Great Britain as Katie...
Posted on: Sun, Sep 11, 2016 at 17:21
© Delly Carr / ITU Media
Grace Norman edges Great Britain's Lauren Steadman...
Posted on: Sun, Sep 11, 2016 at 15:25
© Delly Carr / ITU Media
First-ever Paratriathlon Paralympic...
Posted on: Sat, Sep 10, 2016 at 16:32

Have Your Say