Forgot Password?
Connect With Us Facebook Twitter YouTube Google+
Mon 26th Sep 2022
© Getty Images
Frodeno, Ryf smash records in Frankfurt
Posted by: John Levison
Posted on: Sunday 5th July 2015

Bookmark This  |  Print This Page  |  Send To A Friend  |  Post A Comment

Frodeno and Ryf on fire at scorching Ironman European Champs, Frankfurt

New course records on a brilliant day of Ironman racing at the 2015 European Championships

The 2015 Ironman European Championships, Frankfurt provided what will surely be a preview of the strong pre-race favourites when the best in the sport line up in Kona in October. Jan Frodeno (GER) and Daniela Ryf (SUI) were simply brilliant in Germany - and will both be short-priced favourites to add the Ironman World Championship titles to the European Championships earned today.


Fastest swim, fastest bike, fastest run and a finishing time (and course record) of 7:49:48 - the fifth fastest time ever over the distance - try and pick the holes in that performance from 2008 Olympic Champion Jan Frodeno if you dare.

Scorching temperatures reported to be in the high 30's °c ensured that the swim would be a non-wetsuit affair. That didn't seem to impact Frodeno who exited first in 46:02, just 23 seconds slower than his 'with wetsuit' swim last year. Of the pre-race favourites, Ironman World Champion Sebastian Kienle was four minutes back (50:03) as was Andreas Raelert, Andy Boecherer was close and within a minute, while Frederik Van Lierde (BEL), Bas Diederen (NED), Tyler Butterfield (BDA) and Eneko Llanos were all two minutes in arrears.

©Getty Images

All eyes turn to Sebastian Kienle on the bike, such are his uber-bike credentials. He delivered on that expectation too with a 4:11:07 bike split which, we think, is perhaps the fifth fastest Ironman bike split ever. It was also more than two minutes slower than Frodeno, who extended his lead and would record a 4:08:43 split, surpassing that of Joe Skipper at Ironman Texas recently. The stellar men's start list was certainly delivering on the bike today.

Fastest Ironman Bike Splits histroy - provisional...

Athlete Event
Bike Split
Andrew Starykowicz Ironman Florida 2013
Andrew Starykowicz Ironman Florida 2012
Jan Frodeno Ironman Euro Champs 2015
Joe Skipper Ironman Texas 2015
Sebastian Kienle Ironman Euro Champs 2015
Lionel Sanders Ironman Texas 2015
Andreas Raelert Challenge Roth

Despite the tough conditions, and plenty of walk breaks - and putting his head into several sponge water bins (!) to try and cool himself - Frodeno battled through the run and still managed a 2:50:49 marathon. That brought him home in 7:49:48, which improved on the course record set last year by Sebastian Kienle of 7:55:15 by 5:27.

Kienle described it as the hardest race he's ever done, while third placed Andy Boecherer said "I died 100 times today". Ironman is tough at the easiest of times - and today was the best of the best, performing exceptionally.

©Getty Images


Any time you break a course record that was previously held by Chrissie Wellington, you've had a very good day. Today Switzerland's Daniela Ryf has that nice addition to an impressive performance which marks her out at the favourite to step up one step on the Kona podium in October, from her second place last year. That said, three-time and reigning Ironman World Champion Mirinda Carfrae is the only athlete that has defeated Ryf in the last two seasons. Kona 2015 will be epic.

Her 8:51:00 time was just 24 seconds inside the 2008 performance of the unbeaten at iron-distance, Chrissie Wellington.

©Getty Images

Ryf crossed the finish line 11th overall with splits of 52:46 / 4:47:50 / 3:06:06.

Germany's Julia Gajer was thrilled with second place (9:01:58) while the ever consistent former Frankfurth Champion Caroline Steffen added another Swiss flag to the podium with a closing 3:16:26 marathon and a 9:11:55 finish.

©Getty Images

Ironman 70.3 European Championship, Frankfurt - Sunday 5th July 2015
3.8km / 180km / 42.2 km

Pos Men Women
1st Jan Frodeno (GER) 7:49:48 Daniela Ryf (SUI) 8:51:00
2nd Sebastian Kienle (GER) 8:01:39 Julia Gajer (GER) 9:01:58
3rd Andreas Boecherer (GER) 8:03:49 Caroline Steffen (SUI)
4th Bas Diederen (NED) 8:05:36 Sonja Tajsich (GER) 9:19:29
5th Frederik Van Lierde (BEL) 8:07:09 Ruth Brennan-Morrey (USA) 9:21:09
6th Andreas Raelert (GER) 8:09:53 Kristin Moeller (GER) 9:23:56
7th Tyler Butterfield (BDA) 8:26:25 Tine Deckers (BEL) 9:28:20
8th Eneko Llanos (ESP) 8:29:04 Astrid Stienen (GER) 9:36:03
9th Miquel Blanchart Tinto (ESP) 8:32:28 Tine Holst (DEN) 9:54:30
10th Marko Albert (EST) 8:38:40 Katherina Grohmann (GER) 9:55:08

Related Articles
Daniela Ryf smashes Kona course record in "my best...
Posted on: Sun, Oct 9, 2016 at 03:45
© Getty Images for IRONMAN
Holly Lawrence dominates in Mooloolaba to earn...
Posted on: Sun, Sep 4, 2016 at 12:54
© Getty Images for IRONMAN
Reed edges Kienle in Mooloolaba thriller to win...
Posted on: Sun, Sep 4, 2016 at 11:51
Holly Lawrence continues her stunning 2016 form...
Posted on: Mon, Jul 11, 2016 at 07:55

Have Your Say