Forgot Password?
Connect With Us Facebook Twitter YouTube Google+
Thu 20th Feb 2020
Woestenborghs, Nystrom win Powerman Zofingen Champs
Posted by: Editor
Posted on: Monday 9th September 2013

Bookmark This  |  Print This Page  |  Send To A Friend  |  Post A Comment

Powerman Zofingen is one of the longest standing, toughest and most iconic multisport events on the international calendar. Now also carrying the crown of ITU Powerman Long Distance Duathlon World Championship, Sunday's race saw a first win for Belgium's Rob Woestenborghs - who also won the ITU Duathlon (Short) Championships this year - plus a back-to-back second championship for 2012 winner Eva Nystrom (who we profiled earlier this season HERE).

There was also medal success for the GB Age Group team out in Switzerland - those medals are also listed below the roundup.

Eva Nystrom (SWE) collected her second consecutive ITU Powerman Long Distance Duathlon World Championship title in dominant fashion, besting the competition by an astonishing 14 minutes. In the men's race, Rob Woestenborghs (BEL) continued his strong duathlon season, claiming his first Long Distance championship after winning the shorter event in Cali, Colombia earlier this year.


The women got off to a sleety start after storms that raged through the night settled down just in time for the race. The first two-lap, 10km run saw Switzerland's Petra Eggenschwiler lead a tight crop of women through the first lap. On the second turn around the course, Germany's Julia Viellehner had a 14-second advantage over Susanne Svendsen (DEN) and Eggenschwiler. But the first 10km did little to break up the women's field, with the top six women within 40 seconds of each other. Early on the bike, Nystrom proved why she is the reigning world champ when she created a 40-second gap for herself in the first 20km. 

From that point on there was no stopping Nystrom, as she continued to pummel the competition, opening up a whopping 10 minute gap by the end of the bike. Behind her, the USA's Ruth Brennan Morrey overtook both Eggenschwiler and May Kerstens (NED) to move into second.

Nystrom continued her dominance along the 30km run, as the lead she secured on the bike was far too great to overcome. She bulldozed through the two lap run and sailed to win in 7 hours,13 minutes, 8 seconds. While Nystrom was steady in her race for gold, the same cannot be said for the hunt for silver. Viellehner soared ahead on the first 15km and the battle for bronze heated between Morrey and Barbara Schwarz (SUI). Viellehner took second in 7:24:36. Morrey and Schwarz endured a sprint duel for bronze, but it was the American who took the final podium spot in 7:27:04.


In the men's race, Oliver Mott (GBR) took the initiative to set the rhythm when he ran ahead on the first lap of the run course. Eight men trailed him, including Woestenborghs, Yannick Cadalen, Anthony Leduey, Andreas Sutz, Soren Bystrup, and Andre Moser. But it was Woestenborghs who got to his bike first to begin the testing 150km course.

Rain played an added factor in the race midway through the bike, which is also when Woestenborghs made his move to break away. His break was slow and calculated in the beginning, having moved up just a minute by the 70km mark. But by the end of the second lap, he sailed through the timing point five minutes ahead of the 11-man chase pack. He increased that lead to seven minutes by the time he put feet to pavement.

Behind him, the men jockeyed to put themselves into solid position with five men heading for the run within a minute of each other. Michael Wetzel (GER) and Matt Moorhouse (GBR) led the group, followed by Michael Kopf (GER), Marc Widmer (SUI) and Moser. Like Nystrom, Woestenborghs was too strong to overcome on the run despite having 30km to work with. Although Moser closed in on the Belgium, the day belonged to Woestenborghs, as he captured the win in 6:21:39. Moser took second in 6:24:16, while Wetzel took bronze in 6:24:47.

ITU Powerman Long Distance Duathlon World Championship
Zofingen, Switzerland - Sunday 8th September 2013

Pos Men Women
1st Rob Woestenborghs (BEL) 6:21:39

Eva Nystrom (SWE) 7:13:08

2nd Andre Moser (SUI) 6:24:16 Julia Viellehner (GER) 7:24:36
3rd Michael Wetzel (GER) 6:24:47 Ruth Brennan Morrey (USA) 7:27:04
4th Matt Moorhouse (GBR) 6:26:23 Barbara Schwarz (USA) 7:27:04
5th Soren Bystrup (DEN) 6:28:33 May Kerstens (NED) 7:29:06
6th Andreas Sutz (SUI) 6:30:22 Petra Eggenschwiler (SUI) 7:29:31
7th Michael Kopf Simon Helfenschneider-ofner (AUT) 7:33:09
8th Yannick Cadalen (FRA) 6:33:34 Karin Gerber (SUI) 7:34:26
9th Marc Widemer (SUI) 6:35:07 Maja Jacober (SUI) 7:39:27
10th Daniel Formela (POL) 6:35:47 Jacqueline Uebelhart (SUI) 7:50:55

GB Age Group Medals

GOLD (3)
M20-24  Daniel Bailey
F30-34   Lucie Custance
F45-49   Gill Fullen

M65-69  Geoffrey Russell

M40-44  Christopher Dettmar

Related Articles
© Janos Schmidt / International Triathlon Union
A third Cozumel medal for Michael Smallwood as...
Posted on: Mon, Sep 19, 2016 at 13:00
Who got what in Cozumel? Wednesday's ITU Aquathlon...
Posted on: Thu, Sep 15, 2016 at 09:00
Great Britain's Age-Group athletes gain six...
Posted on: Mon, Sep 5, 2016 at 07:55
Triple Champion Emma Pooley retains ITU Powerman...
Posted on: Sun, Sep 4, 2016 at 14:11

Have Your Say