Forgot Password?
Connect With Us Facebook Twitter YouTube Google+
Mon 17th May 2021
Noble, Mullan: Irish double in Salzburg
Posted by: John Levison
Posted on: Monday 2nd September 2013

Tags  Eimear Mullan  |  Gavin Noble  |  Sazburg  |  Zell Am Zee  |  Zell Am Zee-Kaprun

Bookmark This  |  Print This Page  |  Send To A Friend  |  Post A Comment

The second edition of Ironman 70.3 Zell am Zee-Kaprun in the Salzburg area of Austria, proved to be a great day for Ireland with Gavin Noble and Eimear Mullan both taking the victories and the $3,000 first place winnings.

Mullan, winner of Ironman 70.3 UK for the past two editions, had to use her running strength to achieve top spot. Almost five minutes down on Swiss super swimmer Rahel Küng (SUI) at T1, she was also close on two minutes behind pre-race favourite Eva Wuttti, who produced such a stunning performance at Ironman Copenhagen to become the third fastest female iron-distance athlete in history.

Wutti, along with Ewa Buggol (POL) was able to close up to Kung on the bike and also gain another 90 seconds during the ride, leaving Mullan in fourth at T2 with over three minutes deficit on the leading trio. Not to be deterred, Eimear produced a 1:20:25 half marathon - easily the fastest of the day - which was enough to overhaul everyone, including Wutti, to take top spot on the podium. The winning margin would end up at 48 seconds.

Noble used his ITU-inspired swim speed to be at the head of the race in the swim, and along with Manuel Küng (SUI) and Nils Frommhold (GER) they quickly secured a breakaway on the bike which by T2 would be of the order of three and a half minutes over the remainder of the Pro field. While Küng faded to sixth, Noble's 1:14:43 half was more than enough to take his first Ironman 70.3 title.

Ironman 70.3 Zell am Zee-Kaprun, Sunday 1st September 2013
1.9km / 90km / 21.1km

Pos Men Women
1st Gavin Noble (IRL) 3:50:24 Eimear Mullan (IRL) 4:14:16
2nd Nils Frommhold (GER) 3:51:44 Eva Wutti (AUT) 4:15:04
3rd Alessandro Degasperi (ITA) 3:54:43 Ewa Bugdol (POL) 4:17:31
4th Dorian Wagner (GER) 3:55:15 Rahel Küng (SUI) 4:20:15
5th Michael Göhner (GER) 3:56:40 Laura Philipp (GER) 4:24:23

Related Articles
Joe Skipper breaks British Iron-distance record...
Posted on: Mon, Nov 16, 2015 at 11:00
© Getty Images for Ironman
David Plese and Yvonne Van Vlerken win Ironman...
Posted on: Mon, Oct 5, 2015 at 08:41
© Maj Photography
This weekend's Challenge Fuerteventura saw...
Posted on: Sun, Apr 26, 2015 at 07:29
The Christmas period has proven to be a very merry...
Posted on: Mon, Dec 29, 2014 at 16:00

Have Your Say